Media Interview (Wstar News)

There had been a number of media articles on the recent BNT pictorial shoot which included an interview with Sang Hyun.  Though there were certain points which he had mentioned before such as his ideal partner and his idea on life, there are some parts which are new to me.  On his thoughts about marriage, I get the feeling he is serious about it and perhaps that day might not be too far away?
My translated version of the media article from the following link:
http://wstarnews.hankyung.com/apps/news?popup=0&nid=01&c1=01&c2=01&c3=00&nkey=201410232053131&mode=sub_view

media interview

Now that Sang Hyun has reached his 40s, he has been doing a lot of thinking. Of course he has concerns about acting but he has increased worries about how to live his life.  Since he started hiking as a hobby, it has led him to think of how to live a better life. Climbing a mountain has changed his view of life and the idea is to live a meaningful life. There has been much mention of marriage around him and since he’s growing older, he has to also think of managing his home.
How Sang Hyun the actor sees himself as an ordinary person.
Actually I’m just mediocre. I do not wish to have a gorgeous and great external packaging, not even naturally. I am saving up money for marriage and I live alone, but most parents would regard me as an ordinary person.
How is Sang Hyun’s normal life?
Sincerity is important to me. I like the challenge when I want something that moves me. Life is like flowing water. I’m moving forward to achieve my goals and commitment. I think direction is more important than speed. Rather than advancing quickly, it is important to move in the right direction. Whether in acting or living life, I would like to live a simple life on gentle flowing waves rather than on a high wave.
The wonder he feels about his fellow artistes.
I do not have many celebrity friends. Many of my friends are from childhood.  It just feels like my colleagues are celebrities. Though I am an artiste too, my colleagues seem amazing. During the shooting of ‘Queen of Housewives’, I was surprised when I first saw Oh Ji Ho. Very handsome. Though Tae Bong received a lot of interest, to me Oh Ji Ho is a wonderful actor.

I have worked with Lee Jong Suk twice and he’s been a star for a period of 2 years. Though I know him like a younger brother, conversation seems awkward. Lee Bo Young too acts very well and is a thoughtful actress but I was puzzled when I was with her. During filming, they would be calling me ‘Oppa. Hyeong’ and it seems strange coming from a celebrity.
The public see Sang Hyun as a celebrity too. How were the several blind dates?
Only celebrities who know and look at my mediocrity would be disappointed. Hobbies of hiking, fishing and camping. Not many women would like to do these together with me. Not even those women who can do it.
What about living alone? It seems he has a wish to get married.
I have been living alone for several years but I’m still not used to it. At this age, living apart by myself makes me feel at ease but still it would be better for me to live with family. I have thought about marriage. I am also making preparation for marriage, saving money and making provision for a house.
What is your ideal?
A chubby person would be good. It would better if the person shares my hobbies too. Nowadays women are too skinny so there is no one close to my ideal.

bnt-2

About his role of Tae Bong
Some of my roles are similar to the cheerful character of Tae Bong. I believe there are people around me who have expressed concern that I continue to maintain a successful image. But if my work is interesting, I have confidence there would be no such concerns.
It is true that Sang Hyun’s bright and cheerful character were in a few more of his works. However with concerns that his acting would become bland, he had widened his spectrum of acting. His confidence is apparent and can be seen in the different genres. Rather than the past he looks forward to the time ahead. How does the future look like to him?
Which film gave him the deepest impression?
It was ‘Memories of Murder’ and especially senior Song Kang Ho’s acting which had left me with a deep impression. While watching senior Song Kang Ho’s acting, I had envisaged taking on the role of a detective. Since watching ‘Memories of Murder’, I had an interest in detective roles and this had been instrumental in putting my thoughts into action, hence ‘Gapdongi’.
Does he have any genre?
I would like to take on all genres, from comedy to dark melodramas. Taking on the challenges of comedy movies such as ‘Shaolin Soccer’ & dark movies like ‘Lust Caution’, not to mention detective roles in ‘Gapdongi’ & ‘Police Story’.
There are many actresses I would like to work with. I would like to act with Kim Nam Joo again. There were many memories of the shooting. I would also like to work with younger actresses who acts seriously, Shim Eun Kyung and Song Hye Gyo. A question was asked during the fan meeting in China as to which Chinese actress I would like to work with. My answer was Gong Li, my favourite Chinese actress.
On the movie which will be released during the 2nd half of the year
It is a human comedy movie which you can enjoy with the family. It was wrapped up at the end of last year after much hard work. About 2 years after Tone Deaf Clinic, I am able to make an appearance on screen. It was a film done together with Song Sae Byeog, Lee Kwang Su and Chan Seong. It’s laughter inducing just by looking at the cast combination of comic actors. The movie shows what happens when 5 siblings are caught up in events in the village of Deoksuri. It is a movie which gives a warm family feeling and it would be good for many to watch the movie together with family.
About the future
Because of my late debut, I was greedy and wanted to work continuously. In the past, I did not think of acting as a livelihood but now it’s not the case. I love being an actor and want to repay the public. Over time, the roles I am able to take on will change. But I will develop my acting and scope further, and master all my roles with good performance.
The kind of actor he would like to be and his ultimate goal
I want to be an actor who is consistent in acting well, to receive the respect of my juniors eventually and that my name as an actor will remain for a long time. My ultimate goal is to live a joyful life as I continue acting, not as the actor Yoon Sang Hyun but as Yoon Sang Hyun the person.

 

bnt 3

Dear Sang Hyun,
You are not mediocre.  To me and many others, you are unique and have your own special qualities that make you who you are.  You have a great voice and and your acting touches me.  Don’t ever think of yourself as any less because you are special in so many ways.
I hope you will achieve all that you’ve set your mind on, and that you will find that special lady who shares your ideals and loves you as you are.  May you both climb up that mountain of life and reach the peak together with your little ones.
My wish for you ……. to continue doing what you love, to find what you seek and live the kind of life that makes you happiest, whether as Sang Hyun the actor or Sang Hyun the person.  And always remember that you too are special and that we love you just the way you are. 
This entry was posted in Events, Yoon Sang Hyun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Media Interview (Wstar News)

  1. Suzanna says:

    What defines a successful image? There are plenty who have “successful images” and offers galore because of scandal after scandal. Who cares about concerns expressed by others? What matters and what counts is what makes YOU happy.

    • juleecwk says:

      Well said Suzanna. When it comes to celebrities, I think there is a tendency to compare one’s popularity with others as it is their livelihood and it’s a competitive industry. Perhaps they don’t mind a scandal or two to propel them into the limelight. What is their idea of success? The definition would depend on the individual and it could change with time and age.

      For SH perhaps, it’s more important now to live a meaningful life besides being successful. And one of his priorities is having a family.

  2. shandy says:

    Yes, Yoon is mediocre in his simple daily life.
    He breathes the same air as we breathe, eating the food as
    we eat, sleeping in the bed as we do.
    When he buttons his flamboyant outfit glowing in the limelight,
    he’s no longer mediocre, he’s a public figure , a celebrity.

    His common idiosyncracy makes him the celebrity looks too
    plain in the eyes of other celebs coz of his style of natural
    living a way too far common than most of ours. He who a celeb
    remains unstained in the circle where he’s to keep staying in.
    He dissociates himself from the rest in the same line to claim
    living naturally, behaving naturally, and dislike putting on an
    air of celebs with different masks.
    We the laymen would even find hard to lead a too normal life.
    How then he could make it ?

    A mediocrity of the non-mediocrity.
    He’s an insulator to scandals, he only sticks to that particular
    rose coz he doesn’t live like the celebs who are supposed
    living their fame with rolling on and off scandals……
    A celeb who denies subliminally to be called celeb coz he’s
    always wanted to live the natural way as we do, then he’ll be
    happier ……than ever…… a man refuses to live with pretense
    or artfulness, a nature lover who is defined as pure naturalist,
    leads a simple life untinged with color news, rare….

    Yoon’s a veritable celeb, he’s shining with his natural style,
    the celeb who is able to live to an unexpected level of a celeb
    without box news, who could be that ?
    He conditions himself the simplest mediocrity so that he is
    living easier than those making themselves more celeb by
    staying more of a simple man who is always true to himself.

    He’s already a miracle of mediocrity, as well as the miracle
    of a celebrity.

  3. shomangaka says:

    He’s so humble. I am also very glad he mentioned he wants to work with Kim Nam Joo again.

    • juleecwk says:

      I’ve enjoyed their pairing for Queen of Housewives. They had worked very well together in this drama. Yes, it would be nice if they could work together again.

  4. Zsuzsanna says:

    I think everybody wants to live a joyful life, but in our rushing life it’s not so easy to do it! And mainly as an actor SH’s life with his many activities would never be an ordinary life, even if he would like to have. But this is normal as he is a star in Korea and in many other countries all over the world. In Hungary we distinguish the celebrity and the star. Celebrity can be everyone who is in the TV and who didn’t do any special thing, like a reality show’s member, but the stars are really shining. They are real artists and their performances are fair values! And SH belongs to this second definition, to the stars. And I hope he could try many different roles out and could give us fantastic experiences with his acting and singing and his sweet smile! 😀

    Regarding his very intense desire to marry soon, well, I think living alone is not good, everyone needs someone whom he can love and share his happiness and sadness or just his opinions about the things of the world and his interests with and it has to be mutual from both sides! I hope SH has chosen well his would-be wife – seeing his ring, he has already done – who can share all these things with him and the joyful life for what he desires so eagerly! I do wish for him!!!

    It’s interesting that he has not got too much good friend among the actresses and actors… Oh JI Ho is really a very good actor and I like him very much! When he is smiling and his little dimples appear on his face I do feel that he could be a very good person and full of life! 😀 Between SH and KNJ there was a special chemistry in the drama Queen of Housewives and I loved them very much together, I think he was so good in role of Taebong because he could be opened and could show his best acting!!! Although, I remember that all the three actors, mainly SH, were so scared from KNJ in a show! 😀 So, I wonder if he has forgotten those feelings??? 😀

    • juleecwk says:

      Yes, the men were ‘afraid’ of KNJ and SH thought she looked fierce. But probably he’s no longer afraid of her now that he’s more seasoned in acting. I was hoping that there would be a sequel to QoH with Taebong but probably there wouldn’t be much of a story with KNJ’s character since she had reconciled with her husband.

      That ring ….. so you too are thinking what I’m thinking. Probably not from his mum but someone special 😀 I have a feeling that SH might be concerned with how his fans will feel when he settles down and perhaps he’s getting them ready to the idea. For the past few years he has been telling us about his wishes for a family and the kind of woman he’s looking for. So we won’t be surprised when she finally appears. I hope all his fans will continue to support and love him just the same when that time comes.

      • Zsuzsanna says:

        Of course, this is not question from my side! I like the clear situations, and it’s good to know that he likes us so much that he shares with us his feelings and the truth! Perhaps, at the Xmas party – concert in Tokyo! 😀

Leave a Reply

