‘Perfect Wife’ Episode 1 (2017-02-27)

Viewership Ratings (Nielsen)
Episode 1     3.9%
Having watched the first episode of ‘Perfect Wife’ yesterday, my impression could be summed up in the saying ‘it never rains but it pours’ for the female lead Shim Jae Bok (Go So Young). As if losing her job is not bad enough, she finds out that hubby Jung Hee (Sang Hyun) is merrily having an affair with his female colleague Jeong Na Mi (Im Se Mi).
My personal views:
Frankly I do not like Sang Hyun to play such a character even though its purpose is to pile on misery for wife Jae Bok …… being meek and unfaithful. For a change, I would like Sang Hyun to take on the role of a baddie or villain with a strong presence as in some Korean movies I’ve watched and which had left a memorable impression … such as Lee Jun Jae (2015 movie Assassination) and Jung Woo Sung (2013 movie Cold Eyes). A big no-no for me are roles of unfaithful husbands and those who abuse women and children. Perhaps Jung Hee will undergo a transformation later but right now I do not approve of his character.
Update: Having re-watched the subbed episode, it strikes me that a possible reason why Jung Hee had turned to another woman is because he feels he’s always making Jae Bok disappointed and thinks she does not need him?

1-2

1-2a

1-3

1-6

1-30

1-8

1-29

1-26

1-25

1-17

1-15

1-16

1-19

1-20

1-21

1-22

1-23

1-24

This entry was posted in Kdrama, Yoon Sang Hyun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Perfect Wife’ Episode 1 (2017-02-27)

  1. Nancy Ho says:

    Julee, I agree with you…I do not like his character..hope that will change in later episodes.

    • juleecwk says:

      Hope SH will select roles with stronger characters for his next dramas. His character as Nam Jung Gi in the previous drama is also that of a meek dad. It’s his first as a cheating husband but I feel it is not a character that is appealing or one that viewers would want to root for. I would not mind his role as a baddie as long as it is one with a strong presence.

      I’m surprised that this drama has 20 ep when the usual is around 16 ep.

Leave a Reply

